My top 5 vegan cooking resources

With all the jaw-droppingly beautiful and mind-bogglingly delicious vegan food out there, you never need to feel like you’re missing out on anything by going vegan. Below, in no particular order, are my favorite 5 vegan cooking resources. If they were books, they’d be completely worn out by now. Vegan for the win!


Minimalist Baker

the-ultimate-black-bean-brownies

image by Minimalist Baker

This blog is simply awesome. The only problem is that there are just too many recipes on it that I can’t wait to try!

My partner is a chocolate fiend – me, not so much – so I was in uncharted territory when I was searching for a vegan brownie recipe. There are very few other cooks out there who I trust enough to lead me down the path of Black Bean Brownies. They were awesome, like every other recipe I’ve tried from this blog!

Next on my list? I’m excited to try the Pumpkin Cornbread Waffles! And the Sun-Dried Tomato Chickpea Burgers! And…I’d better just stop now.


Oh She Glows

20160719_193416.jpg

my partner’s possibly overly-ambitious burger tower

For like 6 months, this was pretty much the only vegan cooking blog I used. It had everything I needed, and I never failed to find an utterly delicious recipe here.

 

Plus, there are several recipes that make great impressions on non-vegans for dinner parties, like these seriously amazing Next Level Vegan Enchiladas. Wow! Or these Jumbo Stuffed Shells, which I made for my partner’s birthday last year, to everyone’s delight.

My favorite recipe, though, hands-down, is Our Perfect Veggie Burger. This is dinner every Friday night in my house. The name doesn’t lie. They are actually perfect.


the Vegan Corner

the-vegan-corner-screenshot

screenshot from the Vegan Cornerr

The Vegan Corner is a more recent discovery for me. I was looking for options to replace cooking cream in pasta dishes. The onion cream was one I’d never encountered before, and it was just thing I needed!

 

The thing I really like about this website, aside from having so many simple but fabulous dishes, is that they include not only the usual nutritional information, but also the caloric breakdown of the dish.

As you can see in the image (Linguine with pepper & leek cream), they also have video tutorials for many of their recipes – helpful for less experienced cooks.


the Kitchn

kitchn-screenshot

screenshot from the Kitchn’s Surprising Ideas collection

Loads of vegan recipes is just the beginning at the Kitchn.

They are also well-known for their great how-to posts and surprising(ly awesome) ideas. What first brought me to them was 5 Ways to Prepare Tempeh. I really needed this advice as a new vegan!

But you don’t have to take my word for it – try out something from 17 of the Most Delicious Vegan Recipes We Know.


Post Punk Kitchen

9723355237_7873428b05_z

image by PPK – BLT Mac & Cheeze

To me, PPK screams comfort food, and no wonder – there are 5 different vegan mac & cheese recipes to sample from!

And I know that, as soon as autumn hits, I’m going to be craving this Mushroom Hot Pot.


Eat like every bite counts

One more thing. I’m just going to shamelessly plug my own food blog. In fact, it’s not meant to show you beautiful food or inventive vegan recipes, so, in that sense, it doesn’t compete at all with the 5 above, but has a completely different purpose. It’s meant to be a resource for people who are interested in following Dr. Michael Greger’s evidence-based advice on how to eat on a daily basis for optimum health. He developed a “Daily Dozen” checklist of what we should try to eat every day, and my goal with Eat like every bite counts is to create daily meal plans that check off every single box. When I use recipes like our perfect veggie burger, I calculate how many boxes you can check (you can see that particular breakdown here). If you’d like to find out how a particular recipe fits into Dr. Greger’s Daily Dozen, let me know. I’ll see what I can do! 


vegan-1343429_1920

3 responses »

  1. An excellent list, many of these are go-to sites for me. I just added yours!

    Reply
  2. Thank you! I needed to figure out how to prepare tempeh!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Recipe Review: 10-minute toddler-friendly pasta – Eat like every bite counts

Leave a Reply

