Eat like every bite counts

My vegan journey has inspired me to start a new blog, in addition to making a fresh start in this one.

food-1283181_640A very important part of this journey has been watching any & every video on nutritionfacts.org (among many others, of course), and reading Dr. Greger’s book How Not to Die, (link in the sidebar). The purpose of my new blog is to help you Eat Like Every Bite Counts. I make daily meal plans that help you ensure that you’re getting all the nutrition you need to be healthy by checking off every box of Dr. Greger’s Daily Dozen. It’s a list of 12 things, and the number of servings for each, that we should all get daily. There are 10 different food categories, plus drinks, plus exercise. In my new blog, Eat like every bite counts, I focus on the food, and leave you to manage your own drinks and exercise.

When I first started trying to incorporate all the different categories of food in the appropriate number of servings into my diet daily, I found it to be challenging, time-consuming, and a bit overwhelming in general. Trying to find 3 recipes per day that fit snugly into the Daily Dozen while incorporating a healthy variety of grains, fruits & vegetables is a bit like solving a Rubik’s cubecube-457549_640. At times, I would have strange pairings left over by the end of the day, like one serving of beans and one serving of nuts – not exactly what you’d normally want for a dessert, unless you have some vegan red bean (adzuki) ice cream lying around, in which case you’re right on track! My goals with Eat like every bite counts are to help you through the transition process with, hopefully, far less trouble than I had, and to make it easier, for those of you with little spare time, to manage the change for the benefit of your, and your family’s, health & well-being.

The blog is in its infancy, and there’s a lot of improvements I plan to make, but it will all take a little bit of time. I’ll be happy to receive suggestions and requests, as well!

Meal planner banner

click image to visit Eat like every bite counts

vegan-1343429_1920

Leave a Reply

